Ranjana from Nepal, one-hand winner

Ranjana from Nepal, one-hand winner

I am Ranjana Dhami.

I’m 27 years old. Originally my family come from Nijgadh Bara in south-eastern Nepal. My family belongs to Tharu community, which is indigenous on the Terai area of Nepal. Terai is the plain terytories of south Nepal. Tradition of my family is farming, but beaucose of hard situation of Nepal economy my father doesn’t have any incom from his work. Then for manage money by myself I should go to the capitol.

Currently I live in Jawalakhel, Dhobigat Lalitpur (named also Patan, one of three old capitols of Nepal), south of Kathmandu city. I have recently completed my Bachelors of Social Work and persuing my Master Degree in Sociology from Padma Kanya Multipal Campus in Kathmandu.

I’m person with physical disability. I don’t have my right hand below my elbow since birth. However, my impairment hasn’t hinder my abilities in any way. I can do all my daily activities as well as my professional activities easily. The only thing that sometimes makes me feel disabled is the attitude of people looking at me, other than I can basically do everything that I’m asked during study or work.

I’m also very much involved in Para Sports. I play Taekwondo. I have travelled to five different countries to play for Nepal – our nation. I have also won 3 bronze and 1 silver medal in different international tournaments and one gold medal in national tournament. During these Travels and exposure, I got chance to foreign communication and boost up my confidence and level up my English skills.

During my bachelor study I completed my internship with two different organizations, where I learnt valuable lessons and skills that would be important for this UN submit.

In the first year of my study, I was placed as intern at Nutrition Rehabilitation Home. This is a project of Nepal Youth Foundation that provides intensive care and support to children who are suffering from malnutrition and also to those children who had some form of physical disability. My job there was to look after these children and to provide the necessary care as guided by supervisor. There I also provided some counseling to some mothers of these children who were sad by seeing the state of their children.

I also learn to do data collection. I assist doctors who checked up these children and then I used to document all the details provided by them of each children. I also learned about balanced diet that should be provided to children for their proper development .These skills will be valuable in my life.

At second year of my studies I did internship with Nepal Academy Psychology, Sanepa Lalitpur. This is organization provided services purely based on psychology to various children who were different physically and mentally than general children. My role there was often teaching assistant, where I used to teach physical exercise, arts and craft, drawing, panting etc. At Academy children were happy and excited to do these activities with me. I believe that the skills I learnt here are doing orientation on different topics, organizing public out reach and tell people about different thing.

Presently my usual day looks as follows: I wake up at 5 am, brush my teeth, and do my taekwondo training for 1,5 an hour. Now with the entire world in lock down I have to train alone. Around seven o’clock I go for my 1 hour of uphill running. With a better financial budget, I would have a breakfast made of eggs with chickpeas and milk, but recently I have been enjoying only the traditional masala chai. Then I do my training or studies through a webinar. Meanwhile, I cook something to eat, most often daal, a Nepalese lentil sauce with vegetables such as eggplant, ladies fingers and potatoes, sometimes also with rice. Sometimes I also do cycle rides in the morning or evening, or both. Around 8 p.m. I eat dinner, and at 11 p.m. I go to bed.

Coming to the end of this essay, after finishing my master degree I am planning to apply abroad for the job where I can build up my future. Presently I don’t know about the facility or placement in abroad, so, if you could help me it will be great.

Ranjana Dhami, Jawalakhel, Lalitpur, Nepal

email: dhami.ranja2073@gmail.com      mobile: +9779841676325

Ranjana Dhami

Related posts

Leave a Comment

Log in: